Glossary

Glossary

 


A

Beam angle - Gives information about the width/narrowness of the light emitted by the light source. A value of 30-60° is typical for spotlights and is rather more suitable for targeted lighting. At least 120° should be adopted to provide light over the greatest possible area.

Ampere (A) - Is the unit of measurement of electrical current. We are interested in the value of the current because it is important for deciding on the correct mains adapter. An LED bar rated at 24W operating at a voltage of 12V requires a mains adapter capable of supplying at least 2A (24W / 12V). A power reserve of 10% should always be included in the calculation, therefore a 5A mains adapter should be used to power two 100cm LED bars.

C

ClearSealing - A special production process in which a special high-performance silicone gives the LED bars a watertight seal. UV and temperature stable! Although this process results in longer production times and higher manufacturing costs, the characteristics it produces cannot fail to impress.

CRI - See Ra

I

IP67 - The ingress protection type indicates the suitability of electrical operating equipment (in this case our LED bars) for different ambient conditions as well as the protection of people from potential hazards it provides during its use. IP67 stands for: Protection against temporary immersion, and complete protection against contact and therefore it fulfils the current VDE requirements for aquarium lighting.

K

Kelvin (k) - Is the unit of measurement of colour temperature, i.e. gives information about the light colour.

Shimmering effect - This describes the interplay of light and shadow on the bed of a body of water that occurs in nature through the combined action of sunlight and wave motion. The main requirement to create this effect is a targeted and powerful light source such as LED; the light from a conventional fluorescent tube is very highly scattered and hence unsuitable. The intensity of the shimmering effect depends on the distance of the light source from the water surface and the movement of that surface (waves).

Cooling body - In our context, this consists of an aluminium strip that has been specially designed and developed to suit our LEDs. It is an integral component of our LED bars. The LEDs are permanently and directly attached to the cooling body during the manufacture of the bars, so that they are capable of passive cooling. The heat emitted from the LEDs is absorbed by the aluminium and conducted away in a direct and efficient manner. In spite of their high output, no other means of cooling is required! However, our PRO² LED bars allow you the option of benefiting from the advantages of water cooling systems.

L

LED - A light-emitting diode (LED) is a semiconductor that emits light and has the electrical characteristics of a diode. If an electrical current flows through the diode in the forward direction, it emits light of a wavelength that depends on the semiconductor material and the coating.

LED bar - The LEDs in our LED bars are permanently attached to a passive aluminium cooling body and made watertight with a special high-performance silicone. The number of LEDs depends upon the length of the LED bar.

Light bar housing - Is a practical means of accommodating the LED bars and can be mounted on the sides of the tank, on the frames around the top or suspended from the ceiling.

Lumen (lm) - Lumen is the unit of measurement of luminous flux and gives information about the whole of the light that the LED lamp emits on all sides. It describes the brightness of the LED lamp.

N

Nanometer (nm) - The colour of an LED is also expressed in the form of a wavelength. The wavelength describes the distance between two consecutive points moving in phase on a wave. This distance is measured in nanometres (nm). The wavelength of the visible light colours increases from blue to red, the visible range being between 370 nm (violet) and 750 nm (red).

Mains Adapter- A stabilised direct current mains adapter is required to provide power to your LED lighting. It must output a voltage of 12V DC. The current it must supply, the number of ampere (A), is determined by the connected consumers, in this case the LED lamps.

R

Ra - The colour rendering index (CRI). This value describes how well the colour emitted from a light source is rendered. The colours from different light sources appear different in the event of deviations in the light spectrum band or the light colour. The maximum value of 100Ra describes the best rendering, i.e. no deviation from the ideal reference value, which means the colours of the illuminated object appear as they do in nature. Aquarium lighting should be selected to achieve at least 80Ra. Our LEDs intended for use as main lighting achieve up to 90Ra.

A comparison: Fluorescent tubes frequently have the Ra value encoded on the tube. A printed-on value of 740 equates to an Ra value of at least 70 (first number) with a colour temperature of 4000K. 850 equates to an Ra value of at least 80 with a colour temperature of 5000K.

S

SMD - Stands for surface-mounted device: In contrast to other LEDs, SMD LEDs are not connected by wires but are soldered directly onto the printed circuit board.

W

Watt (W) - Is the unit of measurement of power (energy use per unit of time) in the International System of Units (SI). In the context of LEDs, this value is used in the calculation of electricity consumption and electricity costs. Example calculation for a 100cm LED bar rated at 24W:

24W (0.024kWh) x 10 hours (operation) x 365 days x € 0.25 (electricity price) = € 21.90 per year

Glossar

Glossar

Glossar



 

A

Abstrahlwinkel - Gibt Auskunft darüber, wie breit oder schmal die Lichtquelle das Licht abgibt. 30-60° sind typisch für Spots und eher nur für eine gezielte Beleuchtung geeignet. Um eine möglichst große Ausleuchtung zu erzielen sind mindestens 120° anzustreben.

Ampere (A) - Ist die Einheit der elektrischen Stromstärke. In unserem Fall interessant und wichtig zur Bestimmung des richtigen Netzteils. Eine LED-Leiste mit 24W benötigt bei 12V Spannung rechnerisch ein Netzteil mit mindestens 2A (24W / 12V). Es sollte allerdings stets eine Leistungsreserve von 10% eingeplant werden, deshalb ist z.b. für zwei 100cm LED-Leisten ein 5A Netzteil zu wählen.

C

ClearSealing - Ein besonderes Produktionsverfahren, bei dem ein spezielles Hochleistungs-Silikon verwendet wird und die LED-Leisten wasserdicht versiegelt werden. UV- und temperaturstabil! Dieses Verfahren verursacht zwar längere Produktionszeiten und höhere Kosten in der Herstellung, überzeugt aber durch seine starken Eigenschaften.

CRI - siehe Ra

I

IP67 - Die Schutzart gibt die Eignung von elektrischen Betriebsmitteln (in diesem Fall unserer LED-Leisten) für verschiedene Umgebungsbedingungen an, zusätzlich den Schutz von Menschen gegen potentielle Gefährdung bei deren Benutzung. IP67 steht konkret für: Schutz gegen zeitweiliges Untertauchen, sowie vollständiger Schutz gegen Berührung und erfüllt somit die aktuellen Auflagen der VDE für Aquarienbeleuchtungen.

K

Kelvin (k) - Ist die Einheit in der die Farbtemperatur also die Lichtfarbe angegeben wird.

Kringeleffekt - Dieser steht für das Licht- und Schattenspiel, welches sich in der Natur durch die Kombination von Sonnenlicht und Wellenbewegung auf dem Boden des Gewässers abzeichnet. Ausschlaggebend ist in erster Linie eine gezielte und leistungsstarke Lichtquelle wie LED, eine herkömmliche Leuchtstoffröhre die das Licht sehr stark streut ist ungeeignet. Des Weiteren wird die Intensität des Kringeleffekt vom Abstand der Lichtquelle zur Wasseroberfläche, sowie der Oberflächenbewegung (Wellen) beeinflusst.

Kühlkörper - Dieser besteht in unserem Fall aus einer Aluminiumleiste, welche speziell für unsere LEDs entwickelt und abgestimmt wurde. Er ist also fester Bestandteil unserer LED-Leisten. Die LEDs werden bei der Herstellung der Leisten untrennbar und direkt mit dem Kühlkörper verbunden und kühlen sich auf diese Weise passiv. Die entstehende Wärme wird von dem Aluminium aufgenommen und kann direkt und optimal abgeführt werden. Trotz der hohen Leistung ist somit keine weitere Kühlung erforderlich! Dennoch haben Sie bei den PRO² LED-Leisten die Möglichkeit die Vorzüge der Wasserkühlung zu nutzen.

L

LED - Eine Leuchtdiode (kurz LED) ist ein lichtemittierendes Halbleiter-Bauelement, dessen elektrische Eigenschaften einer Diode entsprechen. Fließt durch die Diode elektrischer Strom in Durchlassrichtung, so strahlt sie Licht mit einer vom Halbleitermaterial und der Beschichtung abhängigen Wellenlänge ab.

LED-Leiste - Bei unseren LED-Leisten handelt es sich um eine von der Länge der LED-Leiste abhängige Anzahl an LEDs, die untrennbar mit einem passiven Aluminium-Kühlkörper verbunden sind und durch ein spezielles Hochleistungs-Silikon wasserdicht versiegelt werden.

Leuchtbalkengehäuse - Dienen zur praktischen Aufnahme der LED-Leisten und können wahlweise aufgehängt, aufgesetzt oder aufgestellt werden.

Lumen (lm) - Lumen ist die Einheit des Lichtstroms und steht für das gesamte Licht, welches die LED-Lampe nach allen Seiten ausstrahlt. Mit ihr wird die Helligkeit der LED-Lampe beschrieben.

N

Nanometer (nm) - Die Farbe einer LED wird auch in einer Wellenlänge angegeben. Die Wellenlänge beschreibt den Abstand zwischen zwei aufeinander folgenden, in Phasen schwingenden Punkten einer Welle. Dieser Abstand wird in Nanometern (nm) gemessen. Die sichtbaren Lichtfarben nehmen in ihrer Wellenlänge von Blau nach Rot zu, so liegt der sichtbare Bereich zwischen 370 nm (violett) und 750 nm (rot).

Netzteil - Für die Stromversorgung Ihrer LED-Beleuchtung ist ein stabilisiertes Gleichstromnetzteil notwendig. Das bedeutet, es muss eine Ausgangsspannung von 12V DC gegeben sein. Die zu liefernde Stromstärke, Ampere (A), ist von den angeschlossenen Verbraucher, also den LED-Leuchtmitteln abhängig.

R

Ra - Der Farbwiedergabeindex wird im Englischen mit CRI (Color Rendering Index) angegeben. Dieser Wert beschreibt, wie gut eine von einer Lichtquelle beleuchtete Farbe wiedergegeben wird. Die Farben werden von verschiedenen Lichtquellen unterschiedlich dargestellt, wenn das Lichtspektrum oder die Lichtfarbe abweichen. Der Maximalwert von 100 Ra beschreibt die beste Farbwiedergabe d.h. keine Abweichung von der idealen Vorlage, die Farben des beleuchteten Gegenstandes erscheinen so wie in der Natur. In der Aquaristik sollten Beleuchtungen mit mindestens 80 Ra gewählt werden, unsere LEDs zur Hauptbeleuchtung haben bis zu 90 Ra.

Zum Vergleich: Bei Leuchtstoffröhren steht der Ra Wert häufig verschlüsselt auf der Röhre. Der aufgedruckte wert 740 bedeutet einen Ra Wert von mindestens 70 (erste Zahl) mit einer Farbtemperatur von 4000 Kelvin. 850 bedeutet ein Ra Wert von mindestens 80 mit einer Farbtemperatur von 5000 Kelvin

S

SMD - steht für Surface-Mounted-Device: Im Gegensatz zu anderen LEDs haben SMD-LEDs keine Drahtanschlüsse und werden direkt auf der Leiterplatine angelötet.

W

Watt (W) - ist die im internationalen Einheitensystem für die Leistung (Energieumsatz pro Zeitspanne) verwendete Maßeinheit. Im Zusammenhang mit LEDs wird dieser Wert interessant um den Stromverbrauch bzw. die Stromkosten zu berechnen. Beispielrechnung für eine 100cm LED-Leiste mit 24W:

24W (0,024 kWh) x 10 Std (Betrieb) x 365 Tage x 0,25 € (Strompreis) = 21,90 € pro Jahr